Shortbread for all!

I love cute things. So I have a ridiculous collection of cookie cutters. I made shortbreads on the weekend. Here is my recipe:

  • Melted butter, to grease
  • 225g (1 1/2 cups) plain flour
  • 120g (2/3 cup) Rice Flour
  • 100g (1/2 cup) caster sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 225g cold butter, coarsely chopped
  • Plain flour, extra, to dust

Preheat oven to 150°C. Brush 2 large baking trays with melted butter to lightly grease. Combine the flour, rice flour, sugar and salt in a large bowl. Use your fingertips to rub in the butter until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth.

Roll dough out until 1cm thick. Use a 5cm-diameter star-shaped pastry cutter to cut shapes from dough. Place on prepared trays. Bake in oven for 45 minutes, swapping trays halfway through cooking, or until shortbreads start to change colour. Cool on trays for 1 hour.

Enjoy! Who said cookie cutters are for kids? I disagree, adults should use them so they don’t forget the small pleasures in life!

You can follow my facebook by clicking here and my pinterest here and my twitter here.

Feel like shopping? Click here.

One response to “Shortbread for all!

  1. So cute!! I want a little teapot cookie cutter! And shortbread is just divine. My kitchen is getting renovated at the moment and I haven’t been able to cook or bake for the past 2 and a half months, DYING. I need to procrasti-bake! As soon as it’s done I am going to cook for two days straight.

Leave a comment